Para ver esta página en español, haga clic aquí.

In order to help prevent the spread of travel-related cases of coronavirus in the United States, the CDC recommends postponing discretionary travel--whether domestic or international.

President Trump has suspended the entry of most foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States. These countries include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. These restrictions also apply to China and Iran. This does not apply to legal permanent residents, (generally) immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation. 

The State Department has issued a Global Level 4 Health Advisory. This means that U.S. citizens should avoid all international travel due to the global impact of COVID-19. In countries where commercial departure options remain available, U.S. citizens who live in the United States should arrange for immediate return to the United States, unless they are prepared to remain abroad for an indefinite period. U.S. citizens who live abroad should avoid all international travel. Many countries are experiencing COVID-19 outbreaks and implementing travel restrictions and mandatory quarantines, closing borders, and prohibiting non-citizens from entry with little advance notice. Airlines have cancelled many international flights and several cruise operators have suspended operations or cancelled trips. If you choose to travel internationally, your travel plans may be severely disrupted, and you may be forced to remain outside of the United States for an indefinite time frame.

Americans returning from restricted countries will now be required to travel through one of the following 13 airports:

·       Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts

·       Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois

·       Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas

·       Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan

·       Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii

·       Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia

·       John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York

·       Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California

·       Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida

·       Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey

·       San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California

·       Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington

·       Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

Upon arrival, travelers will proceed to standard customs processing. They will then continue to enhanced entry screening where the passenger will be asked about their medical history, current condition, and asked for contact information for local health authorities. Passengers will then be given written guidance about COVID-19 and directed to proceed to their final destination, and immediately self-quarantine in accordance with CDC best practices.

On March 23, 2020, Governor DeSantis ordered that anyone flying from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, or Louisiana to Florida be placed under a mandatory 14-day quarantine.

The State Department is also working diligently to repatriate U.S. citizens overseas. Embassies overseas are getting special clearance from foreign governments for flights to the U.S. For the State Department to help fellow American overseas they are asking for them to sign up for the Smart Travel Enrollment Program (STEP) at or call 1-888-407-4747 (U.S./Canada); +1-202-501-4444 (overseas); or contact the nearest embassy: If the citizen does not have access to internet, then a family member can initiate the sign up. The State department is issuing a warning to citizens abroad on fake commercial flights and price gauging.